Once were natives

Seems like everyones over it- George Siemens comprehensive post on Prensky’s ‘Digital natives’ refers to the numbers of papers he has refereed using the notion. In a paper I wrote nearly twelve months ago, a reviewer similarly pulled me up (thanks Susan) for perpetuating such a generalised concept. My previous post on Barbara Combes paper is also worth revisiting. Daniel Livingstone’s comments were spot on and his recent post also adds to the groundswell of passion. At Alan Levine’s recent Sydney workshop I also detected some steam coming out of his ‘fluffy’ ears as he decried the validity of the concept. At least Prensky got the debate going. And when the notion is discussed by two fisherman on a remote NSW beach (as I overheard last weekend)-  it gives me a better line of chat than “how are the fish biting?”

About thand

I'm a currently working at NSW Departrment of Education & Training, Connected Classrooms Program, Sydney.
This entry was posted in digital natives, education, Informal learning, knowledge, Net Gen, schooling, Social networking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once were natives

  1. Yes, I think we do need to give credit to Prensky for bringing the debate on the effects of a technology-packed upbringing to the fore. Though I wish he had given us a better term to use, with a less binary and absolute distinction than the immigrant/native metaphor.

    In fact there are a few to choose (but whether any of the alternatives will stick, I don’t know). I quite like ‘Net Generation’, which puts the debate in the context of the ever-repeating generation gap, even if it seems to exclude consideration of mobile technologies.

  2. Pingback: Debunking Digital natives « Tim’s Blog de Blog

Leave a Reply

